How long does it take you to write a blog post?

June 22, 2011 § 7 Comments

Blogging is a funny old thing. It can be cathartic, it can be controversial, it can even be lucrative if you build up a good blog that people want to read and be seen on. Like this one, *obviously*…

However, some people are not great at blogging (my own struggle is not for things to say, but for the time to say it) and they would rather pay someone else to do it- I have personally offered this service for a long time as part of my copywriting business.

I think paying people to blog for you is a great idea- everyone has skills, and things they aren’t so great at, and if I could swap blogging for someone cleaning my house, I’d do it in a heartbeat, but I do have this poser- how long does it take you to write a blog post?

My initial thought is that the answer is going to be that it takes as long as it takes, which is fine if you are blogging for yourself- some posts are easier and quicker to write than others. But what about when you are charging people? Or if someone is paying you to blog for them?

I recently saw a ‘job’ advert, aimed at mums wanting to work from home that was paying £7.50 an hour to write 2 blog posts an hour. And I’m not sure if this is a reasonable expectation and rate- I guess some people would think a £7.50 an hour job would be OK, but I doubt you could turn out good quality blogs at a rate of 2 an hour consistently. So the potential employers are either after low standard work, or (if a blog post takes an hour) they are expecting you to work for £3.75 an hour.

But perhaps it’s just me. I would appreciate your thoughts…

(photo by Michaelaw )

§ 7 Responses to How long does it take you to write a blog post?

  • I struggle to know what to charge people and often do a swap.
    But I wouldn’t be able to write 2 posts in an hour, not only because I spend time on my posts, researching etc .. but I also have a newborn baby and type while feeding with one finger!!!

    I’d be interested to hear from businesses what price they would think is reasonable.

  • Lisa Pybus says:

    I think asking for 2 posts an hour for that level of pay is a bit of a cheek. Some topics come easy and just flow out of me but others are much harder and take a lot of thought and sometimes a lot of research and if you are doing that for someone in the form of a job then it should be recompensed properly. http://lisapblogsthat.blogspot.com/

  • Adam Leyton says:

    This is a really interesting article. I’ve used a number of copywriters to write blog content and articles for a number of websites and although there are exceptions, I’ve found that it’s generally a case of ‘you get what you pay for’.

    In my experience the going rate tends to be around 1-2 pence per word. I’ve had some exceptionally good writers at 1p per word and some not so good ones at 2p per word!

    I think the problem for UK writers is the competition from overseas. Whilst it is hard to find good non-native writers, they can sometimes be found and consequently this must be driving down the prices that blog owners are prepared to pay for locally written content.

    Generally though, content written overseas does require more proofing and editing, eating in to any cost saving made.

  • Isa says:

    I came across one blog paying $20 per post which is about £12 I think. This was for one post per week on the given topic. I write for a few blogs as a monthly contributor but haven’t charged, instead it is part of my marketing strategy. Blogging for others puts me in front of my target audience who may not have discovered my business otherwise.

  • My blog posts for pennies4parents.blogspot.com take a good couple of hours to write, check through and check again! 2 blogs an hour sounds like they’d either be very short or not a great read!

  • LouiseP says:

    I charge £25 p/h! I think £7.50 for 2 blog posts is ridiculous! Its not just the writing, its the research, knowing the company’s marketing objectives and target market inside out, the tone they need to set etc.

    Sure anyone can write a blog post, whether they will be doing it well is anther thing and good writers will not be attracted with a rate like that!

  • Lisa says:

    As a business owner with a blog I have no idea what the right price would be, but is definitely something I may consider in the future. From my own point of view I think it’s a rather high expectation. I currently write my own posts, and do struggle sometimes to get things written in the way that they form in my mind.

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How long does it take you to write a blog post? at mumazing.

meta

