BuyStudentArt competition- Meet Laura Lou

May 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

As you cannot fail to be as excited about the BuyStudentArt competition as we are, we thought you might like to know a little bit more about the creative type behind our fabulous prize. So, without further ado (and if she goes on to make millions I hope you will all remember where you first saw her), please meet the lovely Laura Lou.

“My name is Laura Louise Power, or Laura Lou you take your pick. I was born at home in a small town called Stourbridge in the West Midlands on April 25th 1992. So i’m 19 years of age. I have two siblings a brother age 16 and a sister aged 6, who is adorable, my brother not so much. Anyway …
Since I was young I have always loved artistic hobbies in general. My mother used to tell me that from a very young age , I would wake up and go downstairs to draw or colour, before doing anything else, that was my priority. My favourite toy for many years was my spirograph, a very easy way to make pretty patterns.” [this was also my favourite toy, but I can’t draw to save my life!]

As well as being an artist, Laura is also a skilled dancer, and has been dancing since she was 3, and teaching since she was 16. She won a prestigious place at the Hammond School of Dance in Chester where she  recently finished her A levels, including, of course, a top grade in A level Art.

“I mainly paint, as I enjoy the experience, I find it very relaxing and therapeutic. However, I always aim for perfection and often if a painting does not go according to plan, I will spend the rest of the day very frustrated. Mid you, it’s no better if a piece is going well and I am pleased with my work, as I will spend hours and hours in silence, aiming for the perfect detail, adding intricate tonal shading and details.

I feel this makes my pieces unique to others, you can sense the care that has gone into each piece. I mainly use acrylics as my medium, because I love the vibrant tones and added texture although I also use watercolour paints, as this nicely contasts with simple and tranquil shades.”

“I now live in Chester, and I now purely paint for enjoyment. My forte is still life, especially floral compositions. However, i would love to be taught the skills needed to master landscape paintings. For this reason, one of my favourite artists is  Philip Gray – his work is breathtaking, and his pieces fill me with emotion. One day I hope my work will portray this too.”
I think she’s pretty darn good now!

Fast Facts about Laura Lou:

  • She plays the flute at grade 8 standard and the piano at grade 5
  • She loves the colour red and polkadots but dislikes the colour green
  • She love the view of rapeseed fields, and thinks the yellow is beautiful
  • She’s a tea addict 🙂

Don’t forget, there’s still time to enter the competition to win Laura’s piece Reflection, or you can buy one of her other pieces on the BuyStudentArt site.

To enter, simply

  1. Leave a comment on this blog post including the word ‘reflection’
  2. Follow @BuyStudentArt on Twitter and tweet “I love @BuyStudentArt”
  3. Like the BuyStudentArt facebook page

And if you do all three, you get three chances to enter. So what are you waiting for?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading BuyStudentArt competition- Meet Laura Lou at mumazing.

meta

