Retailing Tailing off?

July 19, 2010 § 3 Comments

Perhaps I am completely wrong, off-course and barking up that proverbial correctly-challenged tree, but I thought retail was easy.

All you need to do is find a good product, present it in a pleasing way, at an inoffensive price and the cash will come rolling in. Simple.

Er, not exactly. Together with my husband, last week I launched a new children’s clothes venture www.funkygirlretroboy.com. While I have a decent grasp of online marketing, and have attracted quite a few visitors to the website, from all over the globe, we also thought it would be a great idea to hire a mobile merchandising unit in our local mall to luanch the site in person.

What a fiasco! Despite comments of how lovely the clothes are (and they are!) the people willing to actually put their hand in their pockets were few and far between. Suffice to say, the week’s hire has not been worth the investment.

After a few days, we decided to rearrange our unit to include some of John’s artwork (from www.theartfulsplodger.co.uk) and John spent his time painting while manning the stand.

I have learned three important lessons this week, and I would like to impart my new-found knowledge with you all.

  1. Retailing is hard. And people are rude. Remember that next time you consider buying something or someone offers you a leaflet.
  2. Just because there may be lots of people somewhere, doesn’t mean there are lots (or even any) of your customers there. I thought my local mall was full of affluent yummy mummies. I was wrong.
  3. Everything is an opportunity.  My husband would never have rented a unit purely for his artwork but as we had such a disastrous start to the week, he took the opportunity, and has had loads of enquiries and some well-deserved praise.

So maybe I am not cut out to be an offline retailer. Good job I am  really amazing writer and copywriter… 😉

§ 3 Responses to Retailing Tailing off?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Retailing Tailing off? at mumazing.

meta

