Games consoles for pre-schoolers

March 29, 2010 § 3 Comments

Now I don’t normally like to moralise, chastise or point fingers but I really have to draw the line at handheld computer game consoles for 3 year olds.

Do you think I am joking? I wish I were. I had the misfortune to see an advertisement for a Peppa Pig game (the second instalment no less) for the Nintendo DS recently. The average age of Peppa fans? 2 and a half to 3 years old.

I was also at a family meal at the weekend, and after eating, most of the children, including my own I am glad to say, were itching to get outside and run around, jump on the climbing frames and whizz down the slides. The only child who wasn’t, was the one glued to his DS, exercising his fingers rather than taxing his body in any way. He was 4.

Despite my own misgivings about giving young children such electronic devices that effectively narrow their horizons to the width of that small screen, I have to accept that some people think this is an acceptable way to entertain their children.

But the most tragic thing about it, and a major part of the advert for this Peppa Pig game was the feature in the game that enabled you to feed the ducks.

Go and take some bread and feed the blinking ducks. Please. For your children’s sake.

§ 3 Responses to Games consoles for pre-schoolers

  • Claire says:

    Totally agree. I hate hate hate Ben (5.5) playing on the Wii, but at least that gives him some exercise (he’s only allowed to play the active ones). He occasionally plays on my mum’s DS but only brain training and Big Brain Academy. Still not perfect, but at least it’s exercising his brain, if not his body. In the nice weather they’d far rather be running around the garden and making lots of noise, which is a far better alternative, if you ask me.

  • Heather says:

    sometimes life makes it hard for kids to play outside – here for example it is below -15C for several months of the year – and i can understand why some parents will let their kids play on things like this to keep them entertained. I don’t see it does any harm in moderation. We don’t have them by the way, but i can see why some do.

    • samthewlis says:

      Blimey -15C!

      I wasn’t advocating banning them entirely, but the child in question’s father actually said “why don’t you get off that bl**dy thing and go outside, you’re always on it”

      Aaagh!

      And feeding real life ducks is much more fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Games consoles for pre-schoolers at mumazing.

meta

