The Alternative Mother’s Day Message

March 13, 2010 § 1 Comment

As it is Mother’s Day on 14th March, I thought it would be timely to do a post on Mother’s Day.

I love Mother’s Day from my own position of being a mum- there is no cheesy mother’s day gift that can be too crap in my eyes; I am far more likely to complain at getting a gift that is not emblazoned with “I Love Mummy”. As I see it, there are only two people in the entire world who call me mummy, and are therefore entitled to buy me said cheese-filled gifts. And I will relish the opportunity for as long as I can. I do remember buying my own mother some joke dog poo one year though. It didn’t go down well.

But, for our family, Mother’s Day is all about me. My husband’s mother died before I ever met him and I have had no contact with my own mother since she didn’t bother coming to my wedding nearly 7 years ago. I am not mentioning this for sympathy, it’s just the way it is. Having no mother-in-law of my own I cannot really empathise with those of you who have to endure battleaxes and interfering so and sos. Although it does make me wonder if I will end up being one of those mother-in-laws myself when I finally allow my dear son to speak to other women, in about another 40 years. Clearly having no shining example of how NOT to do it means I am more likely to make mistakes…

I have already started scouting for potential partners for my children, so Annie @mumstheboss¬† Josh @Claire_Snugbaby and Moo @CharlieMoos better watch out…

§ One Response to The Alternative Mother’s Day Message

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Alternative Mother’s Day Message at mumazing.

meta

